Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

AEJMC DC 2013 Recap

AEJMC DC 2013 Booth

Faculty and students received several honors at the 2013 Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication conference in Washington, D.C., Aug. 8-11. 

Click ‘Read More’ to see the complete list.

  • Professor Rob Heller’s class project “Eyes on LaFollette” was awarded an honorable mention for the AEJMC Newspaper Division – Newspaper Project Award.  
  • Assistant Professor Michael T. Martinez was named Law and Policy Chair for the 39thAnnual AEJMC Southeast Colloquium at the University of Florida, March 20-22, 2014.
  • Assistant Professors Erin Whiteside and Amber Roessner presented “Commemorating forty years: Title IX, anniversary journalism and the politics of memory.”
  • Doctoral student Ioana Coman received the highest score recorded by a graduate student in four years for her submission “Today’s Journalist Challenge: Write Better, Adapt Fast, Promote Smart” in the Teaching News Terrifically in the 21st Century competition.

Doctoral student Denae D’Arcy, along with Communication Studies doctoral students Kyle Heuett and Katie Reno, placed second in the Moeller Student Paper Competition with “Oh man! Am I a Woman? An Analysis of User Comments on Danica Patrick’s Presence in NASCAR.”

During the conference, the School of Journalism and Electronic also hosted a booth to promote the Tennessee Journalism Series. The current set of 12 texts and instructional material were written and built for the iPad by JEM faculty. Professor James Stovall hopes to expand the stable of authors after faculty from attending universities expressed interest in collaborating.